Virginia Beach DUI Defense Lawyer
DUI In Hampton Roads? Call (757) 209-2328 Now.
At the Law Office of Shawn M. Cline, PC, we understand that sometimes people make poor choices. You should not let those choices dictate the rest of your life. After an arrest for driving under the influence (DUI), prosecutors will take action to ensure that you receive the highest level of penalties available for your case. They will work to suspend your license and ensure that you are strictly penalized for your offense.
At the Law Office of Shawn M. Cline, PC, we believe that each individual deserves to be provided with quality representation regardless of offense. We also are familiar with ways in which DUI tests can be improperly conducted and arrests can be mishandled. Our firm is committed to defending the rights and protecting the driving privileges of Virginia drivers. If you have been arrested for DUI, you need to immediately contact our firm and get a free case evaluation.
What Are the Penalties for DUI in Virginia?
In Virginia, any person found operating a vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol can be subjected to arrest and criminal charges. There are a few determining factors that could affect the overall outcome of your case; for example, penalties increase if you had a child in the vehicle with you while you were intoxicated or if you have a high level of intoxication at the time of the arrest. Additionally, you may see an increase in fines or penalties if you were charged with intoxicated manslaughter. Minimum penalties may include:
If your blood alcohol content (BAC) was between 0.15 and 0.20, you could be jailed for a minimum of 5 days. Above 0.20 BAC could land you in jail for at least 10 days. You will be forced to pay a minimum $250 fine and have an interlock ignition device installed in your vehicle if your BAC was above 0.15.
Second-time offenders can see an increase in penalties. You may have up to a year in jail for your conviction if the DUI falls within five years of your first offense. An interlock ignition device will be required, and you could be sentenced to pay fines up to $1,000 as well as be required to complete an alcohol-awareness course.
After the first two offenses, convicted individuals see a significant increase in penalties. If the conviction comes within 10 years of your previous offenses, you can face a minimum of 90 days in jail, a fine of a minimum of $2,000, and indefinite license suspension.
Get Skilled Defense Aftera DUI Arrest - Call Shawn M. Cline
Many people assume that there is little that can be done to defend themselves against a DUI charge; however, working with a Virginia Beach DUI attorney could provide you with a favorable outcome to your case. As a civilian or military individual, DUI convictions can have long-lasting effects on your driving privileges, career and personal life. At our firm, we will fully review your case and ensure that your rights were never infringed upon during the arrest or investigation. We make it our duty to ensure that you receive the best possible outcome to your case.
The moment you are arrested for a DUI, you need to contact the trusted Virgina Beach DUI defense attorney from the Law Office of Shawn M. Cline, PC. Our office is easily reached by completing an online form now! We have convenient locations in the cities of Virginia Beach and Hampton, so if you are a resident of Hampton Roads, then don't hesitate to reach out to the firm!