Virginia Beach Drug Possession Lawyer
Charged with Possession in Virginia Beach or Hampton Roads?
If you are facing a drug possession charge, you are at risk for an array of penalties which could seriously impact your life. Like other states, Virginia takes these charges very seriously. How you will be charged will depend on the nature of the drugs involved as well as the quantity found in your possession.
The sooner you engage the services of a qualified criminal defense attorney, the better your chances of securing the best possible legal result. At the Law Office of Shawn M. Cline, P.C. you can work with an experienced legal team who has handled innumerable cases similar to yours. Our firm's founding attorney has a solid track record of effective defense work in this field.
Classification of Controlled Substances In Virginia
In the state of Virginia, you are in possession of a controlled dangerous substance if it is found on your person, in your vehicle, in your home or business, or anywhere within your reach. The state classifies these substances according to the federal controlled substance schedules based on the danger and addictiveness of the drug. You will be charged and sentenced according to which classification of drug pertains to your case.
- Schedule I Drugs – Considered the most dangerous, these include such drugs as heroin, LSD, Ecstasy, and GHB and are charged as felonies punishable by prison terms of up to 10 years and fines of up to $2,500.
- Schedule II Drugs – These pose the same penalties as Schedule I and include such drugs as cocaine, methamphetamine, and PCP.
- Schedule III Drugs – These are charged as Class 1 misdemeanors punishable by up to one year in jail and fines of up to $2,500. This Schedule includes such prescription drugs as Vicodin and hydrocodone.
- Schedule IV Drugs – These also include prescription drugs such as Xanax and Valium. Possession of Schedule IV drugs is charged as a Class 2 misdemeanor carrying penalties of up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
- Schedule V Drugs – These include medications containing codeine; possession of these drugs is charged as a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $500.
- Class VI Drugs – These are the least risky and are charged as a Class 4 misdemeanor with fines of up to $250.
Talk to an Attorney about your Case Today
To get the knowledgeable guidance you need concerning your drug charges,
contact our firm for a free case consultation. We will conduct a thorough investigation into your case to uncover any favorable evidence. Learn what you are up against, what your rights and options are, and how we can fight on your behalf in the local courts.